National German Honor Society

The Arkansas Iota Xi chapter of the National German Honors Society, Delta Phi Alpha ( was established in 1983.  We have held an annual banquet and initiation every year since, and our membership now includes over 380 members, making us one of the most active chapters in the country.  Students must have an overall B- average, a B+ average in German, be of sophomore standing or above, and have taken at least one junior level class.  The German section purchases honors cords for each initiate to wear with their robes at commencement.  The Delta Phi Alpha Faculty Advisor is Dr. Michael André.

In 2012, the German section was pleased to welcome the following 27 students as new initiates into Delta Phi Alpha, the National German Honors Society:

Stuart Bailey

Adrian Beam

Bart Belaire

Eric Bruton

Chelsea Burris

Kaylee Christie

Kahlilah Fleming

Brittany Gillespie

Michael Hartman

Christopher Harvey

Kyly Hawk

Chelsea Hodge

John Paul Huber

Nathaniel Johnson

Erica Leeman

Ethan McBride

Carl Monson

Lauren Pavlik

Brent Perkins

Julia Perkins

Rocio Martinez Rendis

James Russell

Eric Salazar

Alexandra Stassen

Gabrion Stewart

Madeleine Williams

Brittany Wulf

Dr.Wynfrid Kriegleder of the University of Vienna in Austria, was the featured speaker with a lecture on “Warum braucht man eine österreichische Literaturgeschichte?” (“Why does one need an Austrian literary history?”)

In 2011, nine German students were initiated into Delta Phi Alpha, the National German Honor Society.  Our banquet speaker was Dr. Laurence Hare, of the Department of History, who shared with us his research into the Nazi fascination with archaeology and how German collaboration with Scandinavian lands prior to the National Socialist take over was affected.  New student members represent both Fulbright College and the Engineering College and include:

Christopher Baker

John Broomfield (Graduate student member)

Elizabeth Caruth

Michelle Geisler

Felicity Johnson

Sean Salazar

Wade Schilling

Skye Stover

Jacqueline Stratton

2010 Initiates

Eric Ableitner

John Jacob Barkman

Jared Bludworth

Amanda Bonner

Divesh Brahmbhatt

Austin Brunson

Jessica Burk

Maegan Cook

Samantha Cowan

Shayna Egan

Katherine Goll

John Hannon

Farina Hartung

Devin Haughey

Leslie Jennings

Aidan Lancaster

David Long

David Manke

Christopher Mikles

Laura Neumann

Yvette Ortiz

Stephanie Patterson

Christopher Pryor

Alexandra Sorrell

Chelsea Williams

Elizabeth White

Alexandra Wilcox

David Zimmer

2009 Initiates

Jacquelynn Bensing

Christine Cantwell

Nick Clark

Alexis Collins

Joseph Covey

Gregory Edgmon

Avalon Gurel

Brandon Jones

Greyson Longtin

Jennifer Rivers

Jessica Rutledge


Carey Ashworth

Thomas Bishop

Sarah Bryant

Edison Froelich

Matthew Ganster

Alexander Ganz

Darby Gieringer

Lindsay Harrington

Jessica Shepler

John Jolly

Maria Marley

Larissa Martins

Matthew Midgett

Christopher Moon

Frances Pleimann

Robert Ragsdale

Caitlin Reid

Katherine Rutledge

Kelly Schlinder


Aaron Berkowitz

Ryan Billingsley

Stephanie Bond

Robert Cheek, Jr.

Nathan Culbersen

Claudia Devich

Ann Gordon

Jeff Grooms

Heath Himstedt

Pamela Sue Hitchcock

Patrick Hoffman

Brian Kelley

Matthew McAlister

Matthew McCall